How I fell in love with music

It happened slowly at first and then all at once.

We started as friends and I’ll be honest, it was rough at first. We fought. A lot. Sometimes it got so bad, we had to take some time off. I guess growing up competing, practicing hours on end took a toll on me. But in the end, I always came back.

And then I fell. Hard. When I couldn’t breathe, when I found myself drowning, it saved me, each and every time.

A panic attack. Henselt’s If I Were a Bird and Schubert’s Impromptu in F Minor

Lacking Inspiration. Liszt’s Sonata in B Minor and Hungarian Rhapsody No. 6

Depression. Brahms’ Rhapsodies in B Minor and G Minor

All the concertos for the papers that I just couldn’t get done.
Rachmaninoff’s Concerto No. 2 in C Minor
Brahms’ Concerto No. 2 in B Flat Major
Chopin’s Concerto No. 1 in E Minor
Tchaikovsky’s Concerto No. 1 in B Flat Minor

I could go on and on about how music has saved me. And not just classical. But all of it. Passenger, Coldplay, Kodaline, Sia, Grateful Dead, and so on…

I believe that music is the expression of something that can’t be spoken in words. And when I play a piece on the piano, or hear it somewhere, I become immersed in a world that’s safe, where I am understood. I feel the pain, the raw emotion in every single note, those same feelings I have that I can’t describe in words. And I know that I am no longer alone. It’s better than watching a movie, or even reading a book. It’s an entire world that can’t be explained in the human language, that can’t be stolen or invaded or ruined because its meaning exists within yourself. Everytime you close your eyes, open your mind, and listen.

Leave a Reply

