I had a dream about you last night

I miss it when you would hold my hand and take me to the river and sing
when you would make me dumplings when i was sick and mix the sauce perfectly
when you would tell me i was beautiful every day all those years i felt like a hot mess
when you would knock on my door and try to comfort me when i was angry
when i watched a scary movie at night and you let me crawl into bed with you
when you would listen to me play piano and you would sing with me.

I still remember when i would call out to you every time i came home
when you taught me to sing all those japanese songs
when you would spend my competition days praying for me for hours
when you would cut my hair with all the precision that you had
when you would walk with me to dunkin donuts so we could get exactly what i wanted.

I can still hear your footsteps walking around downstairs as i do my homework in my room
and see your beautiful smile the last time i wheeled you outside and we watched the sunset.

I wish i had done a better job of showing you how much i love you,
and i wish you had been here for my birthday this year.

But i know we will meet again. I love you.

Leave a Reply

